Who Would You Be?

Ever been looking at old family pictures and wonder about how life was back in “those days”? I’ve often looked at family pictures of the days and times before I was born and wondered what life was like. I also wonder how I might have fit in had I lived in those times. Would I be the same guy I am now, personality wise, if I had gone through life 40 years ago? I know there are certain factors that come in to play. For example, where you live? What race are you? Who are your parents? Several other factors could be considered as well, but to keep from making this too technical, lets just go with the flow. If you could live from the age of 20 to the age of 25 during another time period, who would you be?If you turned 20 years old in 1953, and could live for 5 years in the 50′s, who would you be? Keep in mind there were only 48 states at the time. Alaska and Hawaii didn’t join until 1959. Segregation and racism were still accepted practices in the majority of the country. During this 5 year time period there were many things that happened in our country. The Tonight Show airs for the first time. The first McDonald’s is opened. Rock-n-Roll music entered mainstream music. Disneyland in California opens. Elvis shook his pelvis on The Ed Sullivan Show. The space race against Russia began. I think if I had went through my early twenties during these 5 years, I would have possibly been a greaser, sort of. I don’t know if I would’ve pulled off the leather jacket, white t-shirt, blue jeans, motorcycle boots, and aviator sunglasses. I would, however, have worn some variety of that I’m sure. I mainly would have been a greaser for the cars. To this day I L-O-V-E the muscle cars from the past. I can see me with a 1951 Mercury Coupe or possibly a 1932 Ford Coupe. It would be something that had power and muscle and that I could fix with my own two hands. Greasers were known for being part of gangs. I’m not sure I’d be in a gang, but I would have had a close pack of friends. I’d work on my engine on Friday night. Then I’d clean my car on Saturday just in time to go cruise the strip by the diner or go pick up my girl for a date. As much as I like old cars, I might have even become a mechanic or at least a mechanic’s assistant. I’d have lived in a middle size city. Nothing too big, but at the same time a place that is on the cusp of growing. I’d love to have been able to spend my time doing what I want in a country that had only invented the television a few years before now. Technology was on the edge of breaking barriers, but had not yet become something that everyone had or needed for everyday life. There was the technology of the time, but looking back we didn’t rely on it nearly as much as we do today. Time for me to run a comb of gel through my hair, put on my aviator sunglasses, jump in my black 1932 Ford Coupe with the flames painted on, and ride down to Mel’s Diner for a chocolate malt with the gang. Might find a baby with a classy chassis to do some back seat bingo at the passion pit. See ya later, alligator.

Now imagine you turn 20 in the year 1964. Who would you be? During this 5 year time period The Beatles show up in the U.S. The Civil Rights Act is instituted. The U.S. becomes highly involved in the Vietnam War. Also during this time period the first ever Super Bowl is played in which the Green Bay Packers defeat the Kansas City Chiefs 35-10. Martin Luther King Jr. and Robert F. Kennedy are assassinated. And by the end of this 5 year time period, we walked on the moon and had one of the biggest music festivals ever at Woodstock. I know exactly who I would’ve wanted to be during this time period. If for some unknown reason (after all this is fiction) I had not been drafted, I would have been a beach bum. I’d sit on my porch watching the hunnies walk by in their itsy-bitsy-teenie-weenie yellow polka dot bikini. I’d drive a Woody Wagon with my board on the roof. I’d spend my days waxing it down so I don’t wipe out while catching waves. We’d have campfires on the beach at night. I’d have a best friend who owned a blown rod that was in cherry condition. We’d use his car to drag and my car to surf. I wouldn’t be a hippie though. I’d just be a laid back beach bum who lived his life in the sun and waves during the day and hung out at far out parties during the night, you dig?

What if you turned 20 years old in the year 1971? Who would you be? During this 5 year time period the Watergate scandal breaks out and eventually causes the President to resign. Hank Aaron breaks Babe Ruth’s home run record. Microsoft is founded by Bill Gates. Wheel Of Fortune makes its television debut along with Saturday Night Live. At the end of this 5 year period, America celebrates its 200th birthday. To be perfectly honest, this is a time period where I’m not sure who I’d be or what I’d do. This is the time frame when powerful, and illegal, narcotics started to become more and more available. The U.S. faced a shortage of gasoline. I think if I were going through my early twenties, in the early seventies, I would have just tried to blend in. Sad? Maybe. I know one thing, no matter where I was or what I did I would make sure that I owned a black 1971 Plymouth 426 Hemi Cuda. My Cuda would have had a CB radio in it. My 20 would be at the local choke and puke putting some groceries down my neck. I’d ride around making sure to avoid any bear traps from a paper hanger or a black and white. Mostly I’d just stay 10-10 on the side. I’d also spend time just hanging out with a group of friends either going to concerts or hanging in some far out places trying to avoid the man. We’d visit some groovy people and do a solid for anyone in need. I’m sure we’d check out a few foxy mommas walking around in their hot pants looking very fly. So just keep on keeping on my man and everything will be copacetic.

So that’s possibly who I would be had I grown up during different decades. I am a child of the 80′s. Went through my teen years in the early 90′s and my time frame of age 20 – 25 took me from the mid 90′s to the early 2000′s. Everything I’ve gone through and experienced has shaped me in some form or fashion. I like who I am. I’ve made plenty of mistakes and will, unfortunately, make plenty more I’m sure. But it’s all apart of what’s made me who I am now and that is exactly who I would be.

Leave a comment